Dallas Theological Seminary, received several awards from the Evangelical Press Association (EPA) during the organization’s recent convention and award ceremony.

The EPA is a professional organization of Christian publications including magazines, newspapers, and newsletters. According to its website, the EPA exists “to strengthen evangelical periodicals through inspiration, instruction, and networking.”

Its awards, which were given in recognition of exceptional content produced in 2018, were announced at the EPA’s banquet and annual business meeting on April 9, 2019, in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.

DTS received the following in the EPA’s Awards of Excellence contest for publications as a whole:

  • Award of Merit in the “Higher Education” category for DTS Magazine. Named in the award are Edward Herrelko, executive director of marketing communications; and Raquel Wroten (MAMC, 2012), editor.

The Seminary also received the following in the EPA’s Higher Goals contest for individual pieces:

  • Cartoon category, fifth place for DTS Student Paper, There’s Just Something Special. Named in the award is Mark Pate (ThM, 2018); and current MAMW student, Ethel Gould, editor.

Seana Scott, a current MAMW student at DTS, was also announced as the 2019 winner of the $2,000 Jerry Jenkins Scholarship. A prolific writer, Scott’s work has been featured in Brio Magazine, Just Between Us, CT Women, and other online publications. “I’m so excited I was awarded the top funded scholarship at EPA. The confirmation of my call to write for ministry from leaders in Christian publishing is such an encouragement.”

Dr. Mark L. Bailey, president of DTS, commented,“We are humbled by this recognition by those we hold in such high esteem. It means so much to know that the collective effort of our alumni, faculty, students, and staff is valued. May God continue to bless all of us here as we continue to work diligently for His glory.”

* to see the complete list of winners, please click here.